A place to grow

Governors & Trustees

When Bacon's opened in 1991, the College was established through a partnership between Government, Faith and Charitable sponsors. These included:

  • The Southwark Diocesan Board of Education
  • The Philip & Pauline Harris Charitable Trust
  • London Docklands Development Corporation
  • The Department for Education & Skills

On 1st March 2018 Bacon's College became a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school. The College is governed, led and managed by the United Learning Trust in partnership with the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education

United Learning Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in Appendix 4 to the United Learning LGB Members Handbook, which can be seen on the United Learning website. The LGB at Bacon’s College consists of 9 governors, 5 of which (including the Chair) are Foundation Governors nominated by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education and appointed by United Learning Trust. The remaining 4 governors will be nominated and appointed by United Learning Trust.

Current LGB members are:

Sir Simon Hughes (chair)

Rev. Joshua Rey (vice-chair)

Mr Jamie Burns

Ms Khiet Chung

Mrs Caroline Donne

Mrs Nicky Myers

Ms Jan Shadick

The Clerk to the governing body is Mr Andrew Lau

If you would like to contact the Governors, please email: